New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

*Sick* fish...anything I can do?

Started by zurus, January 11, 2007, 02:30:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zurus

One of the mozambiques I picked up from Oenology is dying - is there anything I can do to save him? (i'm assuming it's a him)

Right now I have him by himself in a bucket with a bit of new water and an airhose for oxygen. Anything else I can do? All of the other fish seem fine...except another mozambique that is hiding in the corner, could he be the guilty one that possibly beat up the other guy??

Thanks

darkdep

zurus

Well, I'm still a beginner and all but I think I saw some signs of a fight on his body. But then again I could be completly off. I checked PH and nitrites which look normal. All the other guys in the tank look fine.

darkdep

No worries about being a beginner; that's what everyone is here for, to learn from each other.

Is he swimming funny or is he just injured?  Torn fins or open wounds?

zurus

Well he was swimming around upside down. I moved him to a bucket so he would be by himself. Now he is just upside down and moving around whenever I peak in. I didn't notice any torn fins...no open wounds.. Which is why I am so confused as to what is wrong with him!

babblefish1960

Could be a bacterial or parasitic infection affecting the swim bladder.

zurus

ich?

What should I do?

I'm thinking I might have to make a trip to the pet store tonight... should I treat the whole tank? What if that's not the problem?? Will I kill more fish?

PaleoFishGirl

I don't think ich would make him swim upside down - I would agree that it sounds like something is affecting the swim bladder.