New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

*Something* breeding?

Started by browntown, October 26, 2010, 11:34:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

browntown

I'm new to keeping fish, and any other aquatic creature, and I've been stumped a couple of times in the past two weeks.

The first freaky sight was a FULL molt from a bamboo shrimp.. I've seen bits and pieces before, but this was the whole thing, I recovered once Mr. Shrimp resurfaced after hiding for several days.

Tonight, I noticed something strange, and I've tried researching to see what the source might be, but I'm at a loss. Around the doorway of the coconut shell cave, I noticed a bunch of little spots, they look like they could be eggs of some sort. They're kind of pink/peach, and definitely weren't there when I did a water change on Saturday. I have a male apistogramma who seems protective of the cave, although he's the only one of his kind in the tank. Aside from the apistogramma, there are 5 cardinal tetras, 5 oto cats, several amano shrimp, one bamboo shrimp, and a lot of snails.

Any idea of what they might be? I tried getting a picture, but nothing came out clear enough to make sense of what you can see.

robt18

What type of snails are they? If they're mystery/apple snails then it could be their eggs, although they only lay their eggs outside of water and then they fall in later. If the apisto is defending it I would assume it has something to do with him (are you sure its a him?) but it soundslike something else...

Fishnut

I was leaning more to the snails as well...depending on what kind they are.  I have some horned nerites and they lay eggs that look like that on wood all the time.

browntown

Quote from: robt18 on October 26, 2010, 11:49:41 PM