New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Hello!

Started by Jameskie, January 26, 2008, 06:07:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jameskie

Hi, my name is James, and I am so happy to find this local board. What an excellent resource!

I'm a newbie to fresh water fish-keeping, so I am eager to learn. I started successfully with a standard planted 10g tank a little over a year ago. Right now, I am cycling a new tank, a tall 25g eclipse (a boxing day present to myself from Al's). Luckily I had a head start with some gravel and rock formations from the 10g.

I am not sure what I will end up keeping in my 25g tank. For now, it has 3 giant danios from my old 10g + 2 new ones. All very healthy. The older three (which I have kept for about 14 months) range from 2.5 to 3.5" and the two newer are about 1.5". As the cycling is going very well, this weekend I added 3 small Julia corys to patrol the bottom . All seem very happy. As much as I really like the Danios and think they have great character, I will likely move them out, as they are much to fast and a little nippy for a community tank this size. I haven't yet settled on what I might replace them with - I would like some colour in a shoaling mid tank swimmer.  Suggestions?

I am still keeping the small tank as well, as it has been very healthy for the duration. Presently, it holds a small kuhli loach, 3 each of pretty and red-eye tetras that schoal together, and a pair of Schwarzi Corys for the bottom. I have no plans to change this tank (unless I get another, larger tank....hehehe.)

I'm looking forward to participating in the group.

Cheers!

Jewlye

'Ello!

Maybe some angels in that tall tank? I love watching mine. :-)

Brine

I have kept many different schooling fish. I suggest you look at the different kinds of Rasborae. Like the Harlequin or the Scissor Tailed they seem to school better than Tetras. IMO.