New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

80 gallon tank build

Started by matycake, August 21, 2011, 03:32:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matycake

I'm new to salt water so I'm looking for any tips to keep my tank healthy, i do not have any room for a sump, all tip are appreciated
mat

Malyon18

Hey Mat,

I think a little description of your tank setup and maintenance routines would help us help you out a lot more. Let's hear about your setup :)
"Friends Don't Let Friends Go Plastic Reef"

lonereefer

Hey there, my set up is a 120 gallon mixed reef wich has been up and running for about 3 years now and very healthy and I've never had a sump or skimmer of any sort just regulard water changes do the trick ..... Also for you just begining don't RUSH because only bad thing happen fast in salt systems

Hookup

Water changes...  10% per week is worth it's wait in gold!

matycake

sand - 50 pounds
liverock - i have about 30pounds so far 12pounds man made the rest Fiji
power head - only have 2 for now 750 and a 1050
lighting - nothing fancy yet using my lighting from my fresh water setup
and planning on take my time to set it up

bt

What do you plan on keeping?

matycake

I'm going to start off with some tangs , more the likely

JetJumper

Quote from: matycake on August 22, 2011, 06:10:02 PM
I'm going to start off with some tangs , more the likely

Please define "some" because a lot of tangs need tanks atleast 120g+  So really you can't have much in an 80g tank tang wise.
.: JetJumper's Zone :.

Darth

Quote from: JetJumper on August 22, 2011, 08:55:56 PM
Please define "some" because a lot of tangs need tanks atleast 120g+  So really you can't have much in an 80g tank tang wise.

brotherluv

Hi Mat,