New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

RET TALBOT CONFIRMED FOR APRIL MEETING!!

Started by Fishnut, April 05, 2012, 02:52:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fishnut

Ret Talbot, who was one of the speakers for our Earth Day event will now be joining us for our regular meeting time and place on April 23rd 2012.

Subject:

"This is a story I have been researching for CORAL Magazine for the past two years, and my presentation is constantly changing as the story changes. My talk also covers emerging and established marine aquarium fisheries across the Pacific in places like Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Fiji, etc. People generally enjoy the slides from my travels researching the trade, diving with local fisherman and understanding the socioeconomic impacts of the marine aquarium hobby on developing island nations. Beyond the slides, I share the science and back story so that people can begin to "think big picture" about the hobby and what we really mean when we say we are committed to sustainability. By the end of the talk, everyone in the audience should have some hands-on practical tools for how they can use their purchasing power to support a sustainable and robust marine aquarium trade."

Ret's Bio

Ret Talbot is an award-winning writer and photojournalist with nearly 20 years of experience covering stories from some of the more remote corners of the globe. From the icy summits of the Andes to the reefs of Papua New Guinea, his assignments have taken him off the beaten track and put his readers face-to-face with stories of adventure, new ideas and innovative approaches to commonplace issues.