New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Plant Maintenance Advice

Started by darkdep, October 19, 2005, 12:43:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

darkdep

Rather than jack a similar thread, I'll start a new one.

In my 90gal I have Amazon Swords, Giant Hygro, and Red Hygro.  It's a 24" tall tank, but has 192watts of T8 Fluorescent lighting.  Substrate is a mix of black sand and very fine black gravel (Geosystems stuff).

I'd like to make these plants fluorish.  I've managed to keep plants alive in my other tanks but nothing is truly blowing my mind.  I do not really know how to take care of plants properly.  I've made the effort to at least get the light situation correct on this tank, now I'm hoping to get some advice to handle the rest.  

I'm a complete n0rb when it comes to ferts, please help!

kennyman

I'm an aquarium plant noob too, but my land plant self says you might want to mix in somthing like  Eco-complete into the substrate. I think some of those plants will benifit form a substrate that has some cation extange capacity.

darkdep

...cation exchange capacity...yeah...ok...feel free to tell me what that is.

:D

BigDaddy

CEC is a substrates ability to retain nutrients for later plant use.

Flourite has a very high CEC value.  Kitty litter (don't laugh, people use it) does not.

Simply put, unless you have HUGE light (which you don't) then I recommend the bottled liquid ferts at recommended dosages.  Excel is a nice CO2 substitute, but in a 90 gallon, would be very costly.

Your sword plants are root feeders.  I can't hurt to put a root tab under them.  The nice thing about root tabs is that you can't "over fert" and get nutrients leeching into the water column.  Algae doesn't have roots, so only the swords will benefit from them.

Your stem plants will do fine on a regular routine of a liquid fert like Flourish or Kent products...

Hope this helps.

kennyman