New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Classified ads and low offers

Started by Fishnut, November 20, 2007, 09:25:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fishnut

I'm selling things in the classifieds and was wondering if it is common that people PM sellers with ridiculously low offers on items that are otherwise reasonably priced?

I just got offered $20 for items that together I want $45 for (to buy new is around $100).  I'm all for negotiations, (heck, I'm a Realtor) but gee wiz!  People need to think reasonably with negotiations.  Why offer something ridiculous?  I felt like that person was trying to rob me!

woodendude

tandao78

LOLx yes it is common in this board since everyone is very knowledgable here and wants to get the best DEALS.

And yes you can get at 20% of the value of the item if you ask.

I have sold item at 20% if i need to get rid of it quickly..

Brine

I don't think I've ever tried to haggle with anyone in the fishkeeping hobby. As you said the stuff is reasonably priced (sometimes ridiculously low priced) so if I don't want to pay what you are reasonably asking I won't bother to PM you. Unless your post says OBO and even then I'll just pay what you asked but I can see others making an offer lower than your asking price. Many of us know what a fair price for something is and there are often people switching up there set ups or downsizing or upgrading so there is always plenty of good used stuff around for great deals.
Someone once told me to decide what the minimum amount I would take for something is then add 25% and ask that. That leaves room for haggling. I never do that though. I just post what I want for it and if you don't want it at that price you need to keep looking for a better deal somewhere else.

dan2x38