New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

new to the group

Started by Taltos, October 24, 2007, 07:03:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Taltos

Hello Everyone
I am extremely new to the aquarium game.  My husband purchased a 10 gallon for my daughter, but she is not the least bit interested; especially after loosing a few fish.  I decided to take over and have loved it!!  I would love to upgrade when I have greater knowledge and skills.  Presently, I have 5 platies, two have red tails, and 3 are black.  they have been swimming around for about 2 months now.  I have had ups and downs with the water quality, but presently I am pleased with what I have accomplished.  I am now going to start adding some live plants to see how that goes.
Any comments or suggestions are welcome.
Thanks for reading and I am looking forward to this enjoyable hobby!!

Laura

Welcome abord!
I just responded to your plant question in the other thread  :)

Most of us (with a few exceptions) started out with small tanks and then discovered we wanted more!  The classifieds are also great for picking up new equipment at reasonable prices.  In the long run you may want to consider a membership as you get great discounts at some of our sponsor stores.
700 gal pond - Rosy reds

Taltos

Thanks so much
I was about to look into membership - I think that this organization is great, and everyone seems helpful
Hopefully one day i'll have a nice big aquarium to play with :-)

garnpet

Quote from: Taltos on October 24, 2007, 08:20:50 PM
Hopefully one day i'll have a nice big aquarium to play with :-)

Welcome to the hobby.  You probably have TNBE syndrome - look out!  (Tank Not Big Enough).
1 fish, 2 fish, <°{{{><  , <°{{{><  

BigMomma

Welcome Taltos  :)

I know what that feels like, its hard to stick to just a small aquarium. If you need live plants this is a good place to ask for them!

charlie