New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

New to this website and this hobby

Started by Aucus, June 29, 2006, 02:30:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aucus

Hey everyone, I am not sure if this is the right place to post my message but here it goes  ::) :
I am new to this website and new the the hole aquarium hobby. I add a 15 or 20 G tank when I was younger but only add a couple of tropical fish, now one of my friend is giving me is old (I would say around 50G) tank and I would like to try salt water. I know it is alot of work and I have much to learn but I am ready for it! I hope to meet many people and learn as much as I can... I got so many question that I dont know what to ask first... And what to buy first is also a big question O_O can you do much with a student budget?

A bit more about me:
well I am a student in computer science (so if anyone as any pc problem I would be happy to do my best to help you)
I just moved on my own... yay... hurray for bills hehe
I am very social and outgoing, and as you might have notice, I am french!! So sorry for all the spelling mystakes!!  ::)
Hope to hear from you guys and cant wait for the next meeting!

artw

Welcome to OVAS.   We won't be having a regular meeting until September but a lot of folk on here swap plants and fish all year around.

Underwater

Welcome!  It's a fun, if a little bit strange hobby, and this is a fun, if a little bit strange group.

There is lots you can do with a student budget! OVAS is a great place to get quality used equipment with a free helping of good advice.

First, I reccomend you read this article on the Nitrogen Cycle (http://ovas.ca/index.php?page=60).

Second, Before you buy any fish or equipment research lots and plan, plan, plan.  You have lots of time to enjoy your fish, but make sure you are happy with what you get.

apistome

Hi, Nice to meet you  :D
Welcome to the OVAS website.