New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

tank build......(update got lights)

Started by chunkofocean125, December 18, 2010, 05:44:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chunkofocean125

hello all....

Im new to the reef world and loving it sofar.
My tank has been running for about 5 weeks. i came home today to find a rust colored coating starting on everything in the tank. (live rock, heater glass, top of sand, all have this build up. it wasnt there yesterday or atleast not this visible for me to notice but today WOW.....

Does anybody here have an ideal of what it could be????
I must add that in the tank presently i have about 3 red leg crabs alive( 4 died one by one in past week and a half....6 blue leg crabs and a damsel fish that was giving to me with the live rock i bought used from someone who had just closed down there tank and also worked at big al's. rock was very very nice and sat in a tub with jet and heater for 2 months before putting in new tank....

any help would be crateful..
Thanks...Marc

acers

Hi Marc

From my experience the red algea is a normal cycle in a new tank.  Keep up with the water changes and don't overfeed and it should clear up.  I have nassareus snails that mix up the sand and I found that helped.

Blue legs are likely the culprit in your dead crabs they are very agressive.

Good Luck
24g Aquapod : SW

Darth

could be just diatoms, just a part of the cycle it should clear in a few days

Bob P

Sure sounds like diatom algae bloom. It's normal for a new tank.
Diatoms feed off the silica in your new salt mix. When silica is used up
by the algae, it will dissapear normally. A week or two.
I assume you mixed all new saltwater when you started up?
Hermits may have starved in such a new tank.
Just seem odd that diatoms took so long to start, 5 weeks. That could be
because your live rock was in good shape, filtering nasties, and slowed the
process a bit.

chunkofocean125