New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

15G AIO

Started by bizfromqc, May 30, 2012, 03:30:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bizfromqc

So here I go, trying my hand out at my first saltwater/reef tank. Any and all recommendations, suggestions or "what the h3ck are you thinking" are welcome :-)

I've been doing a lot of research but I'm a total saltwater newbie so I'll need some advice along the road and planning on you guys to steer me in the right direction.

Given the space and money I have to allocate to this project, I decided to go with a smaller AIO tank. I like the DIY route as well so this should be a fun project and a great learning experience.

I plan to use this thread sort of as a blog documenting my way into this build.

Here's what I'm planning to do.

Tank

15G AIO tank (24 x 12 x 12)

• Sump area (4 x 12 x 12) for about 2.5G
  • Display area (20 x 12 x 12) for about 12.5G

Sump area

3 compartments (water flows from 1 to 3) of equal size (4"). Looking form the side of the tank, it should something like this (thanks to ben_jamin for the drawing)

• #1 mechanical/chemical filtration (floss, purigen and chemi-pure elite)
  • #2 biological filtration/refugium (cheato)
  • #3 pump/return section (MJ1200)

The MJ1200 return is hooked up to flex tubing, then to a barb/slip elbow that is then connected into the slip portion on the bulkhead. I've opted for the slip on the internal side of the bulkhead to allow for easier swap/cleaning of the pump.

I would like to build a media rack out of eggcrate that can house the 3 media and can be easily inserted/removed/cleaned.

I also plan on using a 50W heater that will either go in #2 or #3 depending on room available.

Display area

Using loc-line components, the return will be split in two to better disperse the flow and minimize dead areas. Got the components and they'll be hooked up that way.

From left to right

• 1/2" NPT connector