New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Two months of buying guppies, all dying of a parasite

Started by Erika, September 14, 2020, 05:36:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Erika

Hi everyone.  I am new to the Aquarium Society.  I was referred to this group by a salesperson at Big Al's.  The fellow said you might be able to give me some advice or treatment suggestions.  I am a novice when it comes to fish.  I have always had guppies.  I like a lively, friendly tank.  There is a problem though.  All the chemical levels are within normal ranges, but my guppies look good, strong, and healthy, and then they pull their fins in, stop eating, get thin and die within a day.  Looking online, I think the fish have a parasite?  Where can I get a broad spectrum parasite treatment?  I can't afford to go to a Vet to get a prescription for guppies, really I think the Vet would laugh at me!  Parasite medication isn't sold in Ontario anymore, because of legislation.  How can this be right?  Canada is allowing infected fish to cross the border.  The infected fish are then sold a local pet stores, with the parasites.  The infected fish then infect your healthy fish, and there is no remedy available?  Perhaps, all fish coming into Canada should be quarantined and treated for Parasites, before the fish are transported further into the country?
Does anyone know what to do?  Do I purchase medication online and pray that it crosses the border into Canada?  Does anyone out there have healthy guppies, I think they are referred to as Mutts?  I like when everyone mixes and matches.  It's interesting to see the different variations in the new guppies.

Jody

matttimms49

Hi Erika,

That is really unfortunate, nobody likes to lose fish so I'm sorry that you had to go through this.