New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

What does well in hard, alkaline well water? (Aside from african cichlids...)

Started by dbailey, January 24, 2016, 10:34:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dbailey

I've been running a large african cichlid tank for many years, and I'm getting a bit bored with it so I'm considering switching it over to something else.  I'd prefer to stick with using my well water untreated (makes everything so much simpler), so I'm looking for ideas of what I can keep in hard, alkaline water.

Does anybody have any experience keeping something other than cichlids in well water from a limestone aquifer?  My pH is 8.2.  I don't have a GH/KH measurement, but it's certainly at the very hard end of the scale.

From reading other forums, I understand there are a number of fish and plant species that will do fine (maybe not reproduce, but survive happily) in these conditions. 

In your experience, what locally-purchased fish and plants are happy in our local well water?

Thanks for any insight.

My intention is to set up a small-ish (20-30 gallon) test aquarium.  Once I have some successes, I'll take down my large cichlid tank, sell off the inhabitants, give it a thorough cleaning, and set it back up again.
--
Doug

Mike L

What kind of cichlid do you keep. Maybe somthing other then your keeping might be a viable option.

dbailey

I have 3 different species of mid-sized mbuna in the tank.  I'd have to do a bit of research to determine exact species, but one is clearly a pseudotropheus, another might be a labeotropheus.  No guesses about the third.

Ideally I'd like to experiment with a planted tank, so any larger cichlids are pretty much ruled out.
--
Doug

Mike L