New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Who does dirt?

Started by wrm130, November 02, 2012, 11:56:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wrm130

So I'm still pretty new to this but I've been running dirt in all my tanks for the past 6 months and so far (knock on wood) the results are spectacular.

My 5g in particular is running 6wpg for 13hrs a day.  No C02 and no algae:) Aaaaand I've NEVER, EVER vacuumed or cleaned, just water changes.

Anyone else?

Also, newb question: Even if I'm using high output lighting on some of the tanks, if there is no c02 or fertilization going on is this considered low tech?  How does one determine the "tech" level of a setup?

Lol AND one more thing, ALL my tanks always test 0 Nitrate...I'm assuming this is good.....ish?

fischkopp

I used black earth, covered with silica sand, in two different 40B setup and have to agree with you that it produces amazing result while being quite uncomplicated from an nutrient point of view. The tanks that had CO2 injection were growing considerably faster. It's a great choice if you plan on keeping heavy root feeders like swords and especially crypts.

I would not recommend it for aqua-scaped tanks, or any setup that requires you the re-plant regularly. Earth clouds will be inevitable. Another problem that may occur over time is that the earth itself keeps decaying. Worst case is that this happens without oxygen, which can led to the production of hydrogen sulphide. That could end fatal for livestock as it is quite poisonousness. You want to keep checking for air pockets in the substrate from time to time. In my experience, it's best to re-do a tank after two years.