New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Planted tank reboot

Started by Rumble Fish, September 06, 2018, 11:33:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rumble Fish

I've decided to reboot my 100g planted tank. I'm not happy with either the substrate or lighting in general and want to change them.

The tank is 6ft and I want to get a full spectrum LED system to continue growing lower light spectrum plants. It's 18 inches deep and the lights could be 6 inches over the water. Is anyone using anything they recommend?  I'm seeing the length is limiting my selection.

I want  to try sand as a substrate and it's my first time doing this. Play sand or pool filter sand?  Ideally I'd like the browner choice.  Any suggestions on fertilizer for the soil?

Thanks!

Freshwater 100g display / 55g sump, low tech planted tank, LED lighting
Reshaping and restocking: neon tetras, rummy nose tetras

Freshwater 75g display / 40g sump, low tech planted tank, T8 LED shop lighting
harlequin rasboras, pristella tetras, scissortail rasboras, pepper cories, SAEs, oto cats

Freshwater 65g display / 20g sump, low tech planted tank, LED lighting
lemon tetras, pineapple mollies, bronze cories, angelfish

Gilbotron

Nice!  I have a very similar reboot for my 90g in the near future - I'm tired of dosing ferts, so have decided to dirt it and cap with sand.