New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

The small tank that thinks it's big

Started by nanogal, February 28, 2008, 12:08:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nanogal

Hello everybody,
I'm brand new to OVAS and have just rediscovered my interest in aquariums after a few years of being unable to have a tank.  I am a student still, so my new tank is modest, but is doing very well and is taking over my life!
I started a little 5 gal eclipse hex in November and decided to make the most of it.  I's heavily planted and contains within its six walls a plethora of life, something I had never experienced before!  I had never had success with plants before, so this is all new and exciting.
I have
-hygrophylia polysperma
-java fern
-what I believe to be an aponogeton
-some kind of sword plant
-duckweed
-java moss
-5 glowlight tetras
-7 white clouds
-a chocolate mystery snail
-an oto (his friend didn't make it past day 1)
-a ghost shrimp (who is BERRIED!?!)
-some cherry shrimp that live in the hole in the driftwood
-1 betta that I couldn't bear to leave in a bowl, so now he lives in the tank

Now before I get attacked for overcrowding, I really don't think anybody in there is unhappy.  Everybody gets along great and looks healthy and vibrant, and all creatures were added slowly.  Hopefully you guys will agree that the fish I chose (except for the oddball betta) are all peaceful and small and therefore, everything should be ok.  Furthermore, the tank is heavily planted.  Please feel free to comment!

dan2x38

Great to meet ya and welcome. Things can be fine for sometime. But than make to big a water change and presto all Hell can break loss. With such a small tank it is a precarious eco-balance. The giant auction is this Sunday I bet there will be tons of cheap deals to add an extra room for the gang.
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

nanogal