New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Re: DIY Liverock

Started by littleman, June 11, 2009, 08:29:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

littleman

in the process of making DIY liverock using this recipe I found. It costs only about 9cents a pound to make. Will post results.

http://diy-doityourself.blogspot.com/2007/05/making-live-rock.html

bac

sounds nice but it takes more then 9 cents a pounds to make it happen . I have been doing it for 2 years now. just count in the set up, the fact that you can not by things in small bags and time you put into it.

bac

go to see more on diy rock take look(youtube how to make nano reef rock )

Vincenzo.

from what ive read is you really need is the right concrete. and you can go nuts. when you do some up, deff post some pics.

littleman

Not looking to buy the DIY rock I know it is available, why would I spend $3-$4 LB when it is inexpensive to make myself.

bigdaddylovin

Quote from: bac on June 12, 2009, 12:33:17 PM
sounds nice but it takes more then 9 cents a pounds to make it happen . I have been doing it for 2 years now. just count in the set up, the fact that you can not by things in small bags and time you put into it.

when it is a DIY (DO IT YOURSELF) project you don't really count your time sense it is a hobby and all.You only count your time when you are doing it as a business and need to make a profit. If this is the case then it is not a DIY project you are simply going to your LFS to pay to much for something you could do your self.

bac