New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Hello all.

Started by rambomotim, June 16, 2011, 09:00:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rambomotim

Hi. I'm a student (younger then you'd imagine ;) who has been looking for some friends who like their aquariums. This website seemed like the perfect place for me. I guess I'd like to tell you a bit about my aquarium history. When I was young, my dad set up a 10 gallon community tank, and got me and my sisters aquariums as well. When they stopped caring, I took over, performing weekly changes religiously. I'm by no means an expert, but over the past 11 years everything I've learned has been by experience, reading and lots of hard work. About 5 years ago, I saw a 14 gallon biocube nano reef at my lfs. I decided I had to have one. However, after reading about how difficult it was to maintain, I vowed I'd read as much as possible until I knew as much as I could on the subject. Around November, I bought a biocube 8, and begun my cycle. It's been about 7 months and I'm still doing weekly changes, daily water checks, and am yet to have a creature in my aquarium die. This weekend I'm buying my hi fin goby, and in 3 weeks am planning on getting him a shrimp buddy.

So that's my fishy story, hoping to meet some friends on this site.

NanoSF

You will be happy to know there is a fair amount of younger people on OVAS. Maybe not as young as you, but we are all just guessing at your age at this point  :).

I like the small tanks too, but once you fill it up it is hard to know what to do next. You will here a lot of stories of people that started small and are now in the over century mark in tank size. A small tank is a nice way to really appreciate the simplest things that just blend into the background of a big tank IMO.