New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Guppy problem

Started by ottawa11, November 11, 2010, 03:30:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ottawa11

Hey guys,

I just found one of my guppies laying on the floor of the tank and just staying there when I got home. Also, she looks really pregnant and her back tail looked like it split. Does this mean she is going to give birth soon or is she sick? I am new to this and don't really know how to tell if she is sick or pregnant. thank you so much.

Rybren

It's been a very long time since I've kept any guppies, but if it is lying on the substrate, then I would suspect that she is ill.  To the best of my memory, they don't stop swimming when they give birth, babies just pop out as she swims along.
120G Reef

ottawa11

I put her in a breeder tank and this morning she gave birth to 15 fry's but 9 only made it.  But, the thing I am worried about is she is breathing heavy and looks ill. Does that mean she is tired and stressful after giving birth? thanks

sas

Congrats on the new babies :).

But if you could give more history on your tank ie) how long has it been running,
post water parameters, how long have you had this particular fish,
feeding schedule, water change frequency.
By giving us more info I'm sure more hobbyists will jump in with
some very helpful ideas.
Also when you mention she looks ill, what exactly are you seeing, that makes you think
she is ill.

ottawa11