New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

fish gasping at top of tank

Started by Cbellehumeur, January 09, 2011, 05:56:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cbellehumeur

I noticed last night that one one my yellow labs had fin rot ( at least i think it fin rot). Today i went and picked up some maracyn today and put some in the tank. It said to put 1 packet per 10 gallons but i only put 5 packets for my 75 gallons because i've never used any meds in my tank before. Anyway It been about 2 hours and all my fish are grasping for air at the top of my tank.....they look really bad. should i do a water change ASAP and what % should i do? Please help.

Nothing has changed in my tank for the last 2 year....no new fish same filter and same water changes. All my cichlids were added at the same time like 6 years ago

Brent Shaver

I have never had to use meds, knock on wood.  If all your fish are at the top like that I would suggest doing water changes right away.  Worse case you waste some meds, the goal is to keep the fish healthy and it sounds like something backfired.

Hope it works out for you

cdylnicki

Make sure your filters are working/plugged in properly.

Did you do a water change lately?  Anything this morning/last night that you did?

How old is the tank - when did you last have a 100% water change?
How many fish?  How big? 

Agree that a water change is necessary - start with 20% and advise us on whats happening. 

Cbellehumeur

I haven't done a water change in awhile...i only do about 25% wc every month. I have a xp2 and 404 on my 75G. I have 12 full grown 4-6" cichlids, one pleco (6") and one catfish (5"). my tank in 6 years old.

I just noticed 4 other cichlid look like they have fin rot too.

I'll do a wc tonight.

If the meds aren't working what eles should i do. I don't think cichlids like salt?

NjOyRiD

give them oxygen also if you can, to give them a chance