New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Sick Mandarin Goby

Started by markb68, April 28, 2012, 08:07:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

markb68

I bought a mandarin goby about a week ago and he has been pretty motionless for a couple days. I have a 2 year old established 29 gallon salt water tank. So I'm guessing there are enough cocopodes in there to feed him. I noticed he had a huge white spot / shallow hole on his side about half way on his body. Anyone know what this is? Is there anything I can do to bring him back or help him? I'm new to this salt water tank thing and I bought the tank used with the original live stock, live rocks and water.

Cheers.

Mark

brotherluv

I'd highly  recommend bringing it back to the fish store as most people believe minimum tank size is 75g for that fish.  Even if its extremely well established, the dragonette will eat all food that's available within a few weeks and you'll risk starving it.  

JetJumper

Might not be enough food in there.  I have always gone by the rule of thumb of atleast 70g with plenty of live rock to grow pods on.

You got a picture?
.: JetJumper's Zone :.

Dakotamay

Do that fish a favor and take him to a local fish store or give him to a reefer on here that can house and feed him properly. The rule of thumb I go by is 75lbs of live rock per mandarin to allow for enough food to thrive in the rocks. He's probably starving to death.
I have a 180g with 320 lbs of live rock. If you decide to re home him PM me and I'd be happy to give him a good home. Try to save him. Please don't wait long whatever decision you make as it sounds like he's really stressed out and needs food soon.
Shame on wherever you bought him from for even selling him to you. Unless of course they didn't know what you had for a set up.

markb68