New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Starting up my first marine tank

Started by Mart1789, July 17, 2009, 03:42:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mart1789

Hi,

I'm planning to build myself my first marine tank: a 15 gallon fish-only system with 15lbs live rock.   Its gonna be filtered on an eheim 2213 and water circulation will be improved with a powerhead.  There will be a protein skimmer.  I want it to house one Ocellaris clownfish (the smaller ones) and a damsel.  It will cost me between 600-700 bucks of equipment.  I know what I'm doing in a way but not in another as I have over 15 years of experience with cichlids in freshwater (breeding, ect.).  I think I'll have a few things to learn.  My questions are the following - how many fish can I pack in a 15 gal with live rock?  Is 15lbs of live rock enough?  What lighting should I use?  Any general tips when starting such a small marine system?  I don't want to go reef but over the years I might add a coral or two.

Thanx for any replies,

Martin

tskinner