New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

German Ram Cichlids Sick

Started by 101DalmatianMollies, July 08, 2020, 04:33:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

101DalmatianMollies

Good afternoon fellow fish folk!

I've been keeping German Blue Rams for about 5-6 months now. I grew a nice little grouping that I got from two different stores, and I've been experiencing some die off. Some are growing really really well, and looking amazing, but others suddenly start spinning around the tank and dying.

I've been treating one for what looks like hole-in-head disease, I just had another one do the crazy spins around the tank and die the next day (second one to do that). I've got one lingering at the bottom of the QT tank.

I've gone from 11 rams, to now 8, with two sick and in QT.

For the ram with weird spots on its face I've tried using Seachem Kanaplex - didn't seem to touch it at all. Then I used Life Guard by Tetra - non-antibiotic medication. and it seemed to take care of a lot of the problem. But the fish is still listless. I then had a second fish become bottom bound, just hovering around the bottom with no good energy. Both are now in the QT tank and I'm now trying Rid Ich plus just to cover my bases.

I need to do some water parameter checking in the tank, but I thought I was doing well with the tank parameters as I know this can be a pretty sensitive fish.

The rams are housed with:

Amano Shrimp (10)
Bristlenose Plecos (3)
Dwarf Snowball Pleco (1)
Powder Blue Rams (3)
Mystery Snail (1)
Bolivian Ram (a rescue, just one)
Neon Tetras (6 - one has neon tetra disease)
Dwarf Gourami (2)

It's also a planted tank, with 2 large amazon swords, a java fern, a red plant I forget the name of, hairgrass, and 7 marimo balls. There's also christmas moss growing on a dragonwood tree.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Calico3