New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Question for the moderators.....

Started by Sailfin, March 24, 2005, 11:28:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sailfin

Ok, I read that someone has been having spyware and virus problems.     I have too, and I am giving up on my computer soon and just going to re-program it.

I look at a variety of sites, but most often it is this website.

Is this OVAS website 100% safe from spyware and viruses?   I cleaned out my computer a week ago, no viruses or spyware......I've been coming to this site, and I started getting them again.

Could you please check on this please.   I'm starting to think that this site is almost like hotmail.    Viruses and trojan horses can be hidden behind messages, and as soon as some one clicks on the message, you have a surprise in your hard drive.

As a webpage designer, I also know that the amazon.ca ad located at the top, can easily carry viruses, and it gives you unnecessary cookies...I had my share of that!

Marc

The amazon.ca ad does not set cookies and cannot carry a virus.

The messages do not contain viruses and trojans and you cannot get a virus or trojan by viewing the messages.  This bulletin board runs on phpBB software and phpBB takes security seriously.

I come to the OVAS website all the time and I have never had a virus or spyware.

Marc

Aiglos

Yes, you won't get any viruses from visiting this website...

Shouganai

There was actually a recent exploit with phpBB (not sure which version), but it allowed a worm called Santy.A to exploit phpBB forums to send out spam emails... but generally, you're pretty safe. Use some better anti-virus and ad-ware/malware/firewall tools.

dannypd