New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Adding Salt

Started by woodendude, November 24, 2007, 08:32:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodendude

What are the advantages, portions and frequency of adding salt to a FW african cichlid tank?

woodendude

limmer

Sometimes when they are starting to look beatup or a little rough I add pickling salt.
1 tsp 20 gal or 1 teasp 5 gal.
This seems to help bring them back.

mcman

i put a teaspoon in every 5g all the time, more if they are sick.

FishBuddy

For every 5 gallons of water, I put the following ingredients into my African tank:

- 1 tbsp of natural sea salt.
- 1 tbsp of epsom salt.
- 1 tsp of baking soda.

I've been doing this for about 2 years now (water change every week) and this proportion work wonders for me...  I am not afraid to say that I hardly have any deaths (knock on wood!).  Over the past 2 years, I only have 2 fish dying on me in a 72g tank hosting 40+ fish.  Also, I've never encountered a 'hole-in-the-head' disease nor bloat (common in Africans).

[li]72 gal bow: various exotic cichlids
    [/li]

woodendude

FishBuddy.... not bad with only 2 deads, but may I ask why the baking soda? 
Also I assume you are doing water changes with a bucket or are you estimating the amout of water taken out.

FishBuddy

Quote from: woodendude on November 24, 2007, 07:41:52 PM
FishBuddy.... not bad with only 2 deads, but may I ask why the baking soda? 
Also I assume you are doing water changes with a bucket or are you estimating the amout of water taken out.

The baking soda suppose to bring up/buffer the KH; African loves hard water.  The epsom salt is to up/buffer the GH (Pegasus have once told me it helps to improve gill function as well).  The sea salt is to protect the fish from diseases.  BTW, I've ditched the so called 'African Buffer' which you could purchase from the stores and replace with this receipe.