New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Another Newbie!

Started by aussie_shep, January 14, 2009, 09:38:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aussie_shep

Hi All!

I'm new to OVAS.  I've had fish for 15 years, but just recently got more serious about the hobby.  I currently have one calico Oranda and one Black Moor in a 50 gal long.  I adore the fancy goldies - all of them!  I've been a member over at GAB for a while and have learned a tonne about proper goldie care. 

Anyway, I'm hoping to network a bit on this forum and perhaps, with a bit of luck, find the Ranchu I've been dreaming of.  I'm looking for a nice quality calico Ranchu baby (approx 2 inches), but have not had any luck locating one here in Ottawa.  I'm aware of Fish Sempai, but really hope to find one locally.

I look forward to reading past, present, and future posts!  Nice to meet you all  :) 

dan2x38

Welcome nice to meet you. Your experience will be of great value for sure. I am betting KLKelly an long time OVASer and GAB member will be replying to you soon. She is a real lover of goldies. Maybe come out and check our meetings. The next one is Jan. 26th great place to network for sure.
Voltaire:
"I may not agree with what you have to say,
but I'll defend to the death your right to say it."

KLKelly

I'm a big GAB fan too.  Every time I open new member posts I hope they mention goldfish and not cichlids LMAO.  I sure the fancies love the long tank : )

Glad you found OVAS.  There are actually about 10-20 people (not quite sure) that have goldfish on here and some with ponds.

I want two of them black ranchu's from goldfish utopia.  I am even thinking of making a trip this summer to new york to actually get them if I know I could get them back over the border.  (Six hour drive).  I've never seen a calico ranchu locally.

Don't forget after the meetings there are mini auctions where you can get some plants often cheaper than the stores.