New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

150 gallon silicone needs touch-up have never done it before

Started by scottmd, July 01, 2005, 10:11:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scottmd

The silicone in one of the tanks corners looks a little crappy, but I am a little leary of cutting it out and redoing it as I have never done it before. Is there any magical or technical steps I should be aware of before attempting this?

As well, there is no center support on this 6 foot tank, which kind of frightens me a bit.  I am thinking of building a drop over canopy for it which will hold it in at the top, any other suggestions?

Obviously it must be ok as is as it has been used for years by the previous 2 owners with no problem, but I would rather err on the side of safe and dry, than the other way......

UCGrafix

Redoing the silicone 101.

It's an easy thing to do, make sure the tank is completely dry, and do not take any short cuts about this, then simply remove all the old silicone caulk from inside the tank, with an exacto knife, while taking great care, of not cutting through the silicone between the sealed glass, once all has been remove, vacuum the inside, to get rid of all the fine residue of caulking, then cut the new tube of caulking, to offer a wide spread bead, and caulk from one end to the other.
A practice area might be a good idea, if this is your first time.
Remember, that you are looking to apply a wide bead, not a think bead, if you wonder if there is to much caulking applied, you can use a large spoon tip, to remove the excess, when the job is completed.
Do this, by running the tip od the large spoon, as if you where picking up a spoon full of soup with the tip of the spoon, do this process slowly, when the spoon gets full of fresh caulking material, stop in your track, remove the spoon from the process, and wipe the spoon accumulated caulking with a clean rag.