New meeting location for the 2023/2024 Season will be at J.A. Dulude arena.  Meetings start at 7 pm.

Maintaining the perfect filter system

Started by ksj, June 05, 2018, 06:27:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ksj

Hello, I'd greatly appreciate it if someone can go into detail on the best way to maintain 0 ammonia, and nits, along with when to do water changes, how much to change, when to clean the filter, what else to clean, how much to clean, etc.

So basically, treat me like a total noob.
My current set up is a 90g tank with what is usually 10g in the sump tank. The pipe leading from the tank to the sump has a bit of sponge blocking any plants/fish/shrimp from going down and ends with pantyhose to catch any other solids.
Fish stock: 1 bristle nose pleco, small small of endlers, 1 pearl gourami, pair of kribs, neo shrimp (very few these days for some reason), 1 betta, 1 dwarf african frog, assassin snails, 6 amano shrimp, 2 Otocinclus Catfish, unknown amount of kuhli loaches(less then 10) and now 4 salt and pepper cories (had 5 yesterday). Moderately planted.

https://ibb.co/hpf958
90g with 20g sump - Endlers, Kuhli loaches, Betta, Pearl gourami, Salt and pepper cories, Ottos, Assassin snails, Unlucky trumpet snails
~Kim

bergenm

I don't think there is a 'best' way, I think every one has a way that works for them - Personally I do a 30% water change weekly on my tanks including gravel cleaning, whereas I do water changes much less frequently on my pond. I clean all of my sponges and filter media in a bucket of aquarium/pond water. I keep a low bio-load, feed lightly  and have a lot of plants. When setting up a new tank or starting up my pond in the spring I test the water frequently, but once the filters are established I rarely test.
Michael

Jody

Hi
I agree that there isn't a best way to maintain everything perfect, other than water changes and maintenance.
Low stocking levels, plants and proper feeding also help to keep things good.
Jody

lucius